



APPRENTICESHIP AWARDS CELEBRATION NOVEMBER 4, 2005



The Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and **Trade Certification** Commission celebrated its fifth annual apprenticeship awards event to recognize the outstanding achievement in training and certification during July 1, 2004 to June 30, 2005 in Saskatchewan's 50 trades. The awards also honoured the apprenticeiourneyperson-industry

partnerships that are required to achieve skilled and certified workers in the trades, and many industry partners also showed their support by presenting industry scholarships. The list of the 52 outstanding new journeypersons that were honoured is attached.

Employers, supervising journeypersons and training partners were also recognized for their mentorship of the award recipients. These include:

- SIAST Kelsey Campus, Saskatoon received the Outstanding Technical Training Team Award for their Partsperson Training.
 Training delivery had been adapted for delivery online at the worksite through computer links.
 Apprentices no longer need to leave their employer to attend training classes. This change of delivery style has doubled the number of apprentices involved in partsperson apprenticeships.
- An honourable mention was given to the welder technical training team at SIAST in recognition of their extensive work on the re-vamping and re-development of the curriculum for semiautomatic welding production operator, the

welder upgrading and the welder practical examination this past year.

for their pro-active work in The Cosmetologist
 Trade Board and the Barber Stylist Trade
 Board received the Outstanding Trade Board
 Award combining the two trades into one trade
 - the Hairstylist trade.

Extensive work was done to develop a new and comprehensive practical examination. New criteria for testing had to be agreed to and developed in order to meet current industry practices.

 The Cook Trade Board received honourable mention because they worked very diligently over the past yea to review three different examinations, accepting different approaches and challenges.

Industry Scholarships

There were 11 industry scholarship presentations this year. Hats off to:

- Culinary Arts Foundation of Saskatchewan Award - Craig Nagy, Saskatoon – Cook
- International Union of Operating Engineers Award (2) - Ryan Turk, Regina - Hydraulic Crane Operator, and Ivan Landego, Saskatoon - Pipeline Equipment Dozer Operator
- Mechanical Contractors Association of Saskatchewan Inc. Scholarships (3): Dale Empey, Saskatoon – Plumber; Chris Henriksen, Saskatoon - Steamfitter-Pipefitter;

- and Kim La Rose, North Battleford Sheet Metal Worker
- Merit Contractors Scholarships (2) Krista Gordon, Yorkton, Cosmetologist; and Kevin Roberts, Saskatoon, Heavy Duty Equipment Mechanic
- Saskatchewan Roofing Contractors
 Association Scholarship Brendan Lowndes, Kronau Roofer
- Saskatoon Electrical Contractor's Association Scholarship - Tyler Buck, Saskatoon – Level 1 Electrician
- 7. SED Systems Scholarship Tracy Redlich, Saskatoon - Electronics Assembler

Other Awards and Scholarships

There were a number of other awards and scholarships to recognize outstanding achievement. These included:

Artisan Award 2005

Marion Schultz, Stylist at Classic Coiffures at the Saskatoon Coop Centre. Marion is an active supporter of the Allied Beauty Association and a leading participant to modernize the practical examination in her trade, and to merge the cosmetologist and barber stylist trades into the new hairstylist trade.

- Commission Board of Directors'
 Scholarship Marty Rivard, Lashburn Motor Vehicle Body Repair
- George Pellerin Memorial Scholarship -Mel Janzen, Swift Current - electrician
- McElree-Davis Scholarship Shelley Stanley, Fort Qu'Appelle – Carpenter
- Skills Canada Saskatchewan Apprentice Gold Medal Winners:
 - Joel Armstrong, Saskatoon Plumber
 - Justin Foley, Mendham Electrician
 - Evan Hogg, Mossbank Carpenter
 - > Darren Lee, Regina Welder



Artisan recipient, Marion Schultz from Saskatoon, and ATCC Board Chair, Paul McLellan.



Marty Rivard of Lashburn receives the Commission Board of Directors' Scholarship from Conrad Pura for Motor Vehicle Body Repair.



Mel Janzen from Swift Current received the George Pellerin Memorial Scholarship from ATCC Commission Board Chair, Paul McLellan (right) and Saskatchewan Learning Assistant Deputy Minister, Rob Cunningham (left).



Wayne McElree (left) and Wendy Davis (right) present the McElree-Davis Scholarship to Shelley Stanley of Fort Qu-Appelle (centre) for carpentry.



Skills Canada Saskatchewan Apprentice Gold Medal winners from left to right: Evan Hogg from Mossbank (carpenter), Darren Lee from Regina (welder), Justin Foley from Mendham (electrician) and Joel Armstrong from Saskatoon (plumber) with Doug Muir, the Director of Apprenticeship (right).